Book Release Blog Tour With Annamaria Bazzi

Blog Tour stop #1

Book: White Swans: A Regency Era

Author: annamaria Bazzi

 

WhiteSwansARegencyEra for blogs

 

Blurb for White Swans: A Regency Era

 

Left an orphan, Kendíka cries herself to sleep and startles awake in a Regency castle. Terror consumes her, and she attempts to escape only to discover the new world is her prison. Having no choice, she attends a ball given by her guardian, Lord Deverow, to introduce her into society. He admonishes her to follow the rules and promises to protect her from the wrath of the strange, hazy set of eyes spying on everything. But when she ignores his warning, Kendíka learns firsthand what it means to be disobedient.

From Annamaria:

First, I’d like to thank Judy for hosting the first stop of my blog tour for White Swans: A Regency Era, a young adult, fantasy short story series. Why a short story series you ask? Simple. My 13 year old and many of her friends swear they don’t read because novels are just too long. I’m sure many other teens out there feel the same. I’ve set out to try and capture these young teens and draw them into the world of creative imagination where nothing is impossible.

Next, I’d like to thank you for reviewing the book and giving me, not only a wonderful review, but the first opportunity to understand what I need to do to improve my story telling.

Reviews are not only important for other readers to help them make decisions on book purchases, but to authors. To me, as an author, a review is a guide for improvement, that’s why it’s important I understand why the reviewer gave a particular rating. Whether it’s high or low is not as important to me as understanding the why. By comprehending the reason behind the rating, I can improve my writing for a more enjoyable story.

It is my opinion that a reader owes the author a review to let them know what they thought of the book and why. From all the feedback, I would hope the author would take what’s important to improve his/her writing.

 

***** Nice fantasy March 7, 2013

By Voracious Reader

My review: After Kendíka’s parents die she is told by the family lawyer she must go to live with a cousin of her fathers since she is underage. Seeing that she is distraught the lawyer gives her a pill to relax. Next thing she knows is she wakes up in a castle in a time that does not resemble anything she is use to. The clothes she is given and everything around resemble a time long past in history. She soon realizes that she is basically a prisoner. Worse than that there are sinister eyes in the sky and anyone who challenges the live they are given to live gets turned into a swan. The book ends way too soon. I gather there is more to come and this is but book one. We are left to find out if she becomes the next black swan or if she can find her way back to her world. The book seems to skip around just a little but it is a good read and I want to find out more. I give the book a 4 star rating.

 

The book ends way too soon… it is my opinion that the suspense of wanting to find out whether she remains with swan feet, or turns into a swan, or finds her way back into her own world, will make the reader want to read the next book. If you felt the story to be too short, book II is longer, but in remembering the reason for a short story series, I cannot make them too much longer otherwise it defeats the purpose of this project.

Judy, in your review you wrote: ‘the book seems to skip around just a little…’ I’m not quite sure what parts you are referring to so it will be difficult for me to go read them and understand what you felt when reading these passages. Could you please give me at least one example?

From Judy:

The only example I can think of right now is the first time she sees the eyes and talks to her uncle about them. Her going up to her room seemed a little choppy it was not bad just a little abrupt if that makes sense.

From Annamaria:

I understand why you would feel it was abrupt and maybe she should have lingered a little longer, but the girl ran away when she thought the swan that came out of the water to be caressed by Charles was crying with tears.

If I saw an animal behave like a human it would freak me out completely, but  I do understand that such abruptness should not be in literature a smooth startled exit might have flowed better.

It’s specific comments that help an author find the places he/she needs to polish. I hope that many readers will leave detailed comments to help me improve my story telling.

Again, I want to thank you, not just for the wonderful review, but for allowing me to come on your blog and discuss the review to show how important they are when a review is honest and specific.

About the author:

Although born in the United States, Annamaria Bazzi spent a great deal of her childhood in Sicily, Italy, in a town called Sciacca. Italian was the language spoken at home. Therefore, she had no picture for linkedInproblems when she found herself growing up in a strange country.

Upon returning to the states, she promised herself she would speak without an accent.

She attended Wayne State University in Detroit Michigan, where she obtained her Bachelor of Science in Computers with a minor in Spanish.

Annamaria spent twenty years programming systems for large corporations, creating innovative solution, and addressing customer problems. During those years, she raised four daughters and one husband. Annamaria lives in Richmond Virginia with her small family where she now dedicates a good part of her day writing.

 

You can visit Annamaria at:

http://annamariabazzi.com blog

https://www.facebook.com/Author.annamariabazzi facebook page

annamariascorner@yahoo.com email

https://twitter.com/AMBazzi twitter

5 Comments

Filed under New from authors

5 responses to “Book Release Blog Tour With Annamaria Bazzi

  1. I really enjoyed this short story! I’m looking forward to the second installment. It’s a great book for young readers.

  2. thank you so much for being the first stop of my blog tour. i enjoyed working with you and look forward to doing it again

Leave a Reply

