The Black Elf of Seaward Isle by Joni Parker

Today I am reviewing The Black Elf of Seaward Isle by Joni Parker.

Black Elf of Seaward Isle, The - Joni Parker

 

 

Blurb: Young Lady Alexin vows revenge on the evil wizard, Mylar who killed her parents when she was 4. Alex devotes her life to become a soldier to gain the skills to face him in battle, unaware that she was born with them. She excels in her training, becoming a dangerous warrior and the only woman in the King’s Army. Meanwhile, the wizard Mylar, hidden by his Elf friends, seeks revenge on Tyrone, the squire who betrayed his Queen, but saved Alex from the same fate as her parents. One day, their paths will cross, but for now, loud bells sound the alarm in the city. Pirates have landed and attack the east gate, so Alex, at age 13, runs to join the battle.

My review: This is a YA book I think. I did enjoy the story line. The characters were likable and the world was interesting. I did not feel like there was enough information in some areas and too much in others. The story moved way too fast in some places and felt more like I was reading an outline rather than the finished product. The info on the author does mention that this book was edited. I think they need another go at it. The continuity of the timeline is all over the place. I found that the most annoying part of the book. All and all though I can see the young audience liking this book and I actually did too in spite of these shortcomings. If it was cleaned up I would give it a four star(or maybe even a five) but as it is it only rates a 3.

 

BUY AT AMAZON

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

