Island Eyes, Island Skies by Richard Levine

Today I am reviewing Island Eyes, Island Skies by Richard Levine.

 

ISLAND

 

 

Blurb: This is the story of a friendship that develops between Rob, an introspective middle school boy, and D.C., a tall, smart-alecky girl from another town. The two meet and are drawn to each other at D.C.’s cousin’s early summer party, but as soon thereafter tragedy strikes their respective families, they don’t see each other again until the following fall. Although generally lighthearted and humorous in tone, the novel is at times serious, expressing honest, heart-felt emotion as it recounts the growth of the friendship — until tragedy strikes one more time.  Recommended for ages 11 and up.

My Review: This is possibly the best young adult book I have ever read. Don’t like young adult, read it anyway it is really a book for all ages. This is a  very touching story of a twelve year old boy and girl dealing with the awkwardness of growing up and personal tragedy. At first I wasn’t sure I was going to like the story but it soon captured me. I loved the humor shown in the book and the POV coming from various people other than the two main characters. Normally I would have found that distracting but it was done so well. I really fell in love with all the characters in the book. The author is really able to make you join in the emotions of the book. I laughed and cried. This book was well written and edited and I would be glad to recommend it to friends of all ages, It gets 5 stars.

 

BUY AT AMAZON

5 Stars

5-Star-Award

1 Comment

Filed under Posts from me, Reviews

One response to “Island Eyes, Island Skies by Richard Levine

Leave a Reply

