The Fire (Northwest Passage) by John Heldt

Today I am reviewing The Fire (Northwest Passage) by John Heldt.

THE FIRE

 

 

Blurb: When Kevin Johnson, 22, goes to Wallace, Idaho, days after his college graduation, he expects to find rest and relaxation as his family prepares his deceased grandfather’s house for sale. Then he discovers a hidden diary and a time portal that can take him to 1910, the year of Halley’s comet and the largest wildfire in U.S. history. Within hours, Kevin finds himself in the era of horse-drawn wagons, straw hats, and ankle-length dresses. Returning to the same time and place, he decides to travel again and again and make the portal his gateway to summer fun. The adventure takes a more serious turn, however, when the luckless-in-love science major falls for pretty English teacher Sarah Thompson and integrates himself in a community headed for tragedy. Filled with humor, romance, and heartbreak, THE FIRE, the sequel to THE JOURNEY, follows a conflicted soul through a life-changing journey as he makes his mark on a world he was never meant to see.

My Review: Each time I read one of Mr. Heldt’s novels I enjoy it more. He does such a great job of drawing you into the story and making you feel the emotions of the characters. As I sat reading I was totally immersed in Idaho in 1910. I loved the portal to the past and the way it was accessed. Without giving away too much I must say that the twist had me crying and angry. Loved the ending it was all I hoped it to be. It gets a 5 star.

 

BUY AT AMAZON

5 Stars

5-Star-Award

3 Comments

Filed under Posts from me, Reviews

3 responses to “The Fire (Northwest Passage) by John Heldt

  1. I’ll have to check this out. Mention of Idaho dragged me in… my home state!

Leave a Reply

