Dying To Forget by Trish Marie Dawson

Today I am reviewing Dying To Forget by Trish Marie Dawson.

DYING

 

 

Blurb: Sometimes the day you die is only the beginning of a new job.

Piper Willow dies the summer after her high school graduation and finds herself in a spiritual terminal called the Station. She’s given only two choices: Move on to the unknown where she’ll be forced to spend an eternity in her own personal hell or be trained as a Volunteer and return to Earth as the subconscious for a person in need of outside assistance. Does Piper have what it takes to save a life, to be the nagging voice inside another person’s head? Or will she fail and end up lost and tormented…forever?

“Excuse me, Niles…I mean, Mr. Abbott. But, where are we?”
“I’ll explain everything to you dear, just as soon as we reach the Station.”
“What station? We aren’t in the hospital? Where’s my Dad?”
“No Piper, this isn’t the hospital, and your father is at home…he’s fine. Please, follow me.”
He turns away and continues on through the light. I hang my head, staring at my bare feet as we walk. Even though my cuts are gone, I keep rubbing my arm. It’s soothing. I almost bump into Niles when he stops abruptly.
“We’re here,” he says softly

My Review: At first I found this Young Adult novel entertaining. The more I read however the more bothered I became. I feel this book deals way to lightly with the serious problem of teenage suicide and bullying. Emotions just are not there. The pain of the ones left is glossed over and indeed if someone thinks suicide is a better way the idea of the Station seems to reinforce it. Even the chance for romance is there. The second case Piper was sent on dealt with a very depressed teen dealing with a father that was a alcoholic and murderer awaiting trial, a mother that abandoned her and a emotionally detached Grandma. To top it off she was the subject of pretty severe bullying at school. All this seemed to be fixed with the voice of Piper in her head telling her how to fix her hair. I would not want a troubled teen of mine to read this book. I will not bother with the rest of the series. I give this book 2 stars.

BUY AT AMAZON

BeFunky_2 Stars.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Posts from me, Reviews

Leave a Reply

