Letters To Young Chong by Melanie Jo Moore

Today I am reviewing Letters To Young Chong by Melanie Jo Moore.

letters

 

 

 

Blurb: Booze, sex, and good times. What more could you ask for from a book? Letters To Young Chong is much like the pickled ginger on a sushi plate. As a reader, sometimes you need something spicy to cleanse your palate between complex books. That is what you will find here.

Letters To Young Chong is based on the friendship that developed between Melissa Moore and myself. No relation at all. We were often confused as the same person or considered twins. It was a rough start having to share my name. I was sure I would hate that name stealing girl for all of time. Thank goodness I finally got over that. I could not imagine life without her.

Through the beginning chapters, you will read how our friendship was built. In our rural area, we weren’t provided with the luxuries of entertainment big city kids have. We learned how to keep ourselves occupied with fast cars, booze and each other.

The friendship survives years of separation and abusive relationships. When we finally meet up again, we fall right back into step. It is obvious though that time has taken its toll and the situations we have lived through change our outlook on the world forever.

So grab a stiff drink and join the Young Chong experience! Jump on the crazy train that readers are describing as an addicting, rowdy story that will make you bust out laughing and cry your eyes out. If you survive this ride, you’ll definitely want to stay tuned for the sequel!

My Review: I at first found this book amusing as it went through some of the escapades of young adults as they struggled to find themselves and grow up. Then I found it rather annoying that instead of growing up and learning they seemed to continue to self destruct with out of control drinking. The drunk driving I think is one of things that soured me the most. The fact that this a memoir and not fiction makes it worse to me. I did finish the book hoping that the author redeemed herself a little with no luck. I will not read the sequel and can not really recommend this book. Maybe if the drinking wasn’t so bad the editing would be better I give this book 2 stars.

BUY AT AMAZON

BeFunky_2 Stars.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Posts from me, Reviews

Leave a Reply

